top of page

The One Percent: A Human Race Breast Cancer Awareness

Today I am going to tell you about my life project, and how you can help me save lives. On October 3, 2019, my grandfather was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. Yes, I said it well, my grandfather (male). It was rough. I was surprised, not only by the news of cancer, but because it was Breast Cancer. There I learned that men could also get this disease. Until then, me, my family and almost everyone that I know, see Breast Cancer as an exclusively women disease. Wrong!

In addition to supporting my grandfather, I kept thinking, what else can I do? I have been a Girl Scout for 10 years and searching for topics for my Gold Award Project, the highest recognition a Girl Scout can earn. That is where the idea for “The One Percent: A Human Race Breast Cancer Awareness” was born. More than a Gold Medal, it is a life project to educate and raise awareness about Breast Cancer, not only in women, but also in men. When a family member gets cancer, they are not alone, the battle belongs to everyone.



We are in October, the “Breast Cancer Awareness Month” where awareness is raised to detect early this disease, treatments to fight it, and supports for patients and survivors. However, mostly all awareness campaigns are targeted only to women. That is one of the things I want to change: campaigns on Breast Cancer must target all humans (women and men).


The most recognized cancer symbol, the breast cancer awareness ribbon, is all pink. With pink being the color most related to women, the completely pink ribbon could be giving the wrong message that breast cancer is exclusively a women's disease. Most people do not know that men can get breast cancer too. By using a 99% pink, 1% blue ribbon, our sub consciousness will be conscious that 100% of the human race should be checked for breast cancer.



About the logo. Notice the ribbon. Almost all pink, but with blue. It may seem like 1% little, but that translates to thousands of lives. It can be a relative, your dad, brother, cousin, uncle, neighbor, known one, well, you never know. I would like to raise awareness of breast cancer, focusing on that 1%, but always including 99% of women. In “A Human Race Breast Cancer Awareness, the “m”, “e” and “n” are in blue. Highlighting MEN Awareness.


In short, one life, whether of men or women that we save through early detection and awareness that we all must have about breast cancer, makes a difference. All the effort is worth it.

It was a shock to all of us that men could get breast cancer too. When men feel an unusual change in the breast, the last thing you think about is cancer; however, it is a possibility. Remember that the breast cancer awareness ribbon is all pink and campaigns are targeted exclusively to women. Since most people are not aware that men can get breast cancer, they often identify it when cancer has already spread. There are also men who feel ashamed and keep quiet.


I want to make it known that all human beings, women and men, can get Breast Cancer, so they can identify it early and have a better chance of surviving. Awareness is key. Early detection saves lives.

Follow me on social media to help me spread the message:


142 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page