top of page

One Stitch at a Time

Hi all! My name is Cassidy Stumer and I am a fifteen year old from Florida! I've been a Girl Scout for ten years!


Ever since I was little I loved to color, paint, and do anything that involved crafts. When I was in fifth grade I started showing an interest in sewing. I begged my parents to get me a sewing machine but it wasn’t until sixth grade when they got me one. Nobody in my family knew how to sew, so I went to a friend who sewed. She taught me how to use my sewing machine and how to sew some of my Girl Scout patches on to my vest.


I enjoy crafting. Towards the beginning of my ninth grade year I learned about the Cricut machine. A Cricut machine is a cutting machine that can cut several different materials for different projects. You can cut iron on vinyl with the machine and iron on your design to a shirt, bag, etc. There is so much that you can do with this machine. I ended up getting one in November of 2019. I have made many designs with it to put on cosmetic bags, t-shirts, mugs, sweatshirts and so much more. During quarantine I started making some more things with the Cricut Machine. I hope someday in the near future I can start my own Etsy shop with some of the products I make with my Cricut machine.


Throughout middle school I wasn’t sewing anything else besides my Girl Scout patches. Once the other girls in my Girl Scout troop found out I was sewing patches, a few of the girls brought their vest and patches for me to sew. It was like a mini business for me.

After a few years, I started thinking about what else I could use my sewing machine for? One day I was scrolling through Instagram and saw these apple watch scrunchie bands. They seemed so cool but when I went to the website they had limited patterns that weren’t very interesting. So I decided to learn how to make my own scrunchie bands. I sold a few, but it took awhile to make them and I wasn’t selling very many. Around this time is when Covid-19 hit. I decided to start making masks.


It took me a couple of days to figure out what the best and quickest way to make the masks were. I watched many videos and got to work. The first few masks I made took about an hour to make. I got really frustrated because of how long they were taking but I knew it would be worth it in the end. After about a week the masks were taking less time. It went from an hour to half an hour per mask. Now whenever I make them the time goes by extremely fast. From this I learned that the more you practice the better you get. Never give up on yourself no matter how hard the situation is.

Once I got the hang of making the masks, my mom reached out to some close friends as well as some of her coworkers to see who needed masks. Many of them said they needed them. I started making like three to six masks a day as they take thirty minutes to make. After a couple weeks I had sold about 50 masks. I am currently still making them.


Towards the beginning of my ninth grade year I learned about the Cricut machine. A Cricut machine is a cutting machine that can cut several different materials for different projects. You can cut iron on vinyl with the machine and iron on your design to a shirt, bag, etc. There is so much that you can do with this machine. I ended up getting one in November of 2019. I have made many designs with it to put on cosmetic bags, t-shirts, mugs, sweatshirts and so much more. During quarantine I started making some more things with the Cricut Machine. I hope someday in the near future I can start my own Etsy shop with some of the products I make with my Cricut machine.





------------------------------------------------------

Follow me on Instagram

@cassidyhope345

@creations.by.cassidy

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page