top of page

Reconnecting with my culture and the youth

Questions have always kept me on my toes. For as long as I can remember, I questioned everything around me and developed skills that ignited a passion within me. With that being said, I'm Anwesha Mishra, a rising senior at Branham High School in San Jose, California.


My journey started when I was 10 years old, in a dimly lit garage of my teammates that was constantly crowded with robotics pieces and anxious kids. I was quick to recognize that I lacked experience and a mentor, making the journey much more difficult for me. Yet, I kept waiting for opportunities to come as I hoped my drive and curiosity would compensate for experience.


Thinking back to my trips as India, the most exhilarating part of the trip would be to visit my aunt's school. Her students were usually my age; despite language and interests being similar, it was the uncontrollable factors like a residence that created a cultural divide.


These experiences allowed me to develop a sense to give back to a community that had such a prominent impact on my outlook and perspective. Founding Rays of Smiles in 2017 has been one of the most eye-opening experiences for me. I was motivated and encouraged to provide an environment for students where they could be mentored. I focused on connecting with my students and supporting them through their experimental stages as a young child. I focused on giving them the autonomy to make mistakes and learn with time and the proper resources.


This journey has allowed me to become a teenager that has an impact on problems that our generation faces. Barriers like stereotypes may seem to hold us back but its the experiences and endurance that shape us into leaders. Teaching at ashram schools in India over the years has shown me that opportunities can provide confidence and empathy, skills that are needed within the youth today.




After teaching over 723 kids through a global platform, I have sought out to amend the problem that I faced as a young girl. I am empowered and understand my responsibilities as a leader who is working to shape the youth of tomorrow.


Every year, I reflect back on my teaching experiences and learn to value the importance of education. Working with such different students has allowed to me gain a global perspective and I hope to work over the years to continue building it.


Website link: www.raysofsmile.com

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page