top of page

You Can Do Hard Things


Take a moment to pause wherever you are and just... breathe. Close your eyes INHALE... and EXHALE... find 5 things you're grateful for, 4 things that you can touch, 3 things that you can smell, 2 things that you can hear, and 1 thing that you are excited for today. Then repeat this to yourself "I can do hard things." Whether it takes you two tries or twenty-two tries, I hope that this little exercise gave your heart a little more love today. Now that you took some deep breathing I think that it is a perfect time for me to introduce myself!

Hi wonderful human my name is Lauren Kim and I am an advocate of finding ways to spread joy and compassion to others and of course oneself. I am incredibly grateful to share with you today a few things that have crossed my mind far before this quarantine began and how they have become even more prevalent during this time.

I am currently a graduating senior and I just as numerous other seniors across the world have tried their hardest to not only remain optimistic (because truthfully things will never be the same) but also PRESENT. I too have experienced the slumps that have occurred during this time at home and witnessed how quickly one's emotions can fluctuate depending on the day. Thankfully, I have had the blessing to be surrounded by unconditional love and support from my family, friends, teachers, classmates, and organizations at my high school that has shown me what true community and heart looks like and what taking initiative really means. The lessons and constant motivation that they have instilled upon me has allowed me to constantly seek out ways in which I can find the good in the world and shine some more light onto it.

Our world is truly in one of the most confusing and progressive times yet day by day, morning and night, I cannot count the number of days where my heart has woken up and fallen asleep heavy because of the intense, negative emotions that are enveloping the world. However, this does not mean that we cannot try even harder and actively search for that little joy in the day because trust me, it is there.

Some of my favorite quotes that I have stumbled upon and believe will contribute to the motivation that we need to make positive change include...

-“Maybe the best present is to be present.”

-“You can’t do all of the things all of the time.”

-“Courage doesn’t always roar, sometimes it’s the quiet voice at the end of the day whispering I’ll try again tomorrow.”

-“You can do hard things.”


These statements are more than just words on a screen, but precepts that emphasize how everything that we need to spread more good and spread more love in this world is already at our disposal, it is simply up to YOU. How badly does your heart YEARN for more good to fill this world?

We are all doing our absolute best to go through each day with utmost optimism and care, but sometimes what we truly need is rest. Rest to process, rest to reevaluate, rest to simply just rest. We all want to find ways to give back but something that I was taught earlier this year that has helped me during this time is “sometimes the first step in giving back is taking time to rest and rewind so that we as human beings can come back in full force and accomplish our passions and dreams with a healthy heart and mind.” Everyone has the power to do ordinary things in extraordinary ways and different paths on how to get there.

If you take away anything from this little conversation today I hope it is that YOU ARE ENOUGH. YOU ARE DOING ENOUGH. YOU ARE FEELING ENOUGH. YOU CAN DO HARD THINGS.

Sending virtual love and hugs to all of you :). Stay safe and healthy.

-Lauren


Want more words of encouragement from Lauren? Check out @wonderbywords on Instagram for more: https://www.instagram.com/wonderbywords/

84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page