top of page

SUNNY RAY - A Creative Sanity

Updated: Jun 23, 2020

What keeps you sane?


You may have been asked this question once or twice in your life. However, for some reason, many fellow acquaintances have asked me this simple question during the “quarantine” period.


My name is Sunny Suaya, and I’m writing this blog to discuss how the same thing that keeps me sane and feeds my soul has become a great passion of mine.



To be honest, that question is something so very simple, yet I had never thought about it before; but let me share the first things that popped into my head. 


1. Family and friends: I am guessing this would be most people's number one answer if this were to be a game of family feud. 

2. The ocean, nature, and animals: Anyone who knows me well is bound to guess this on the first try. It's true the outside environment will always be my safe space. 

3. Now number three is something that most didn’t know about me until recently... Art. 


Some examples of the art I have made throughout the years.

 

Although I love photography and volunteer my days off at school doing sport photography, many don’t know how special art is to me. Since I can remember, getting creative has been an enormous part of my life. 



You see, I have been painting, drawing, making jewelry, soap, and taking pictures of every spare moment I have been given. Art related you name it, I have tried it (or at least have thought of trying it.) Yet, I don’t consider myself ‘a great artist’, I barely share the work I have done. That is, until recently. 









 

Combining my passion for art and what my grandmother had always said, I decided to start diving into the world of design. I opened Instagram and started creating my account. A style account which would give others outfit tips, inspiration, or even just showcase some pieces in the making.


For instance, the first ever look posted on my account:



Above are jeans I half bleached but spiced up with some flowers and buttons (thread on the outside for a rustic look). See more details on my Instagram! @sunnyraystyle

Above are another pair of jeans reworked and redesigned by me. 


I taught myself to sew and made one leg all lace!


 

I began to post many more creations and outfits I put together...and yes, these ‘photo-shoots’ were in my house... and yes, I did put on these outfits to go absolutely nowhere. 


However, I thought to myself… if I do one thing with this account, I want to inspire others. As humans, we tend to get caught up in the ‘labels’. We look at something and go, “Wow this is ‘blank’ brand, we must get it!” We tend to forget that fashion isn’t about the name of the shirt, it's about expressing yourself, expressing your own unique style and finding what you like wearing best. 


So yeah, I might have made this style account with my name on it but it wasn’t “for me”. It was so people could find what kept them “sane”. It was for people to see an outfit and realize that they shouldn’t dress up for others, that they should dress up for themselves. 


One day maybe I will be a fashion designer, doctor, lawyer, broadcaster, or photographer. I’m not sure what I will be doing with my life in twenty years, but one thing I do know is that I will be okay. As long as I have those three things keeping me sane, I will be okay. And to anyone reading this or seeing my fashion Instagram, you will be too.

Don’t worry about the labels or what others might think, just express yourself. With whatever keeps you sane.

Life is worth living. Make the most of it, be kind, and spread the sunshine.

P.S. make sure to check out my Instagram, @SUNNYRAYSTYLE … I just so might start selling some pieces I will be making, so keep an eye out!! 







681 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page