top of page

Meet Co-Founder, Maya 👋🏼

Updated: Jun 28, 2020


Hi! My name is Maya Cabrera, and I live in Naples, Italy! I've lived in 8 places in 6 different countries throughout my life and love to travel because of it. I'm really passionate about activism and social justice around the world and I plan on studying International Relations in university to further fuel this passion.


During the school year my time is typically filled with cheerleading, both sideline and competitive, as well as soccer. I am a part of my school's MUN club and participate as a delegate at the MUN conference in Prague, Czech Republic. I'm an Educators Rising State Officer and National English Honor Society Vice President. For the past three years, I have been selected to participate in the Creative Connections arts intensive program for dance. As a sophomore, I was chosen to attend the International Student Leadership Institute. By attending, I developed my leadership skills and learned the importance of teamwork. I am incredibly grateful for these opportunities which allow me to grow and develop my interests and passions.


Outside of school, I have attended the Joint Science and Technology Institute sponsored by the Department of Defense in Aberdeen, Maryland. While there I studied electrical engineering and worked on 3-D printing, robotics, and programming.


I am a founding fellow of the Civics Unplugged fellowship and program. Civics Unplugged works to empower the leaders of Gen–Z to build the future of American democracy. Activism and social justice play a huge role in my fellowship which has shown me how much of an impact young leaders around the world can have. I believe that we as young women can change the future if given the tools needed to succeed.


I'm super excited to start this journey of Today is Her Story and can't wait to see where it goes!

Xoxo, Maya

@maya__lauren on Instagram


128 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page